top of page
Writer's pictureJose Montanez

The Exact Workout I Followed to Drop 4 Pounds of Bodyweight in a Week



My waistline grew to 34 inches. That's a gain of an inch in less than a year. My goal is to reduce my waist to 32 inches. Thus, I am undergoing NSP Nutrition 21-Day Challenge. Check it out for free here.

The challenge consists of an exercise per body part. You perform the exercise for 12 repetitions, except for calves. You perform 20 repetitions for those. Your calf muscles are slow-twitch muscle fibers. This means they stimulate better with higher repetitions. You perform each exercise as a circuit. This means you perform an exercise after another until finished. You take little to no rest between each exercise.

The first week is the learning phase. You perform the prescribed circuit twice per day. This means you have a morning and evening session. Each day you add another round of the circuit. Here's the breakdown for week 1:

  • Day 1 - 1 x circuit twice per day

  • Day 2 - 2 x circuits twice per day

  • Day 3 - 3 x circuits twice per day

  • Day 4 - 4 x circuits twice per day

  • Day 5 - 5 x circuits twice per day

  • Day 6 - Active rest (i.e. walking, hiking, swimming, cycling, etc.)

  • Day 7 - Active rest (i.e. walking, hiking, swimming, cycling, etc.)

The additional exercise or activity I do is skipping rope. I warm up with 400 skips. I end the workouts with 800 to 1,000 skips.


The progressive overload of the workouts allows for two things. One: you burn more calories each day for 5 days straight. And two: you achieve a higher excess post-exercise oxygenation consumption (EPOC) each day. The latter lasts all week long.

Here are my starting stats:

Here are my stats at the end of the week:

During that week, I dropped 4 pounds and 0.5 percent in body fat. My visceral fat dropped by one as well. For context, I use a FitIndex Smart Scale for this readings. I took these readings upon waking on an empty stomach. At the end of the challenge, I will share the circumference measurements of my body parts for comparison.

I hope this inspired you! I hope you want to take action now! Check out NSP Nutrition 21-Day Challenge for free. Or start your own workout routine following these guidelines. They mirror the principles of the 21-Day Challenge. If you want to give NSP Nutrition a try, they offer online fitness coaching. Use code: JOSE10 to receive 10% off.

The challenge also comes with a diet plan. I will share that on another article.


3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page