top of page
Writer's pictureJose Montanez

How to Look Fit and Feel Great using the FITT Principle in your Next Workout Program

Updated: Mar 11, 2022


Photo by Jonathan Borba


I have quit workouts that did not showed results within 30 days. How about you?

There are several reasons for this. And I want to start with saying "it starts with you." That means that it starts with me. Whenever I start a new workout program, I must believe in the program. I must also document my journey. The latter means:

  • Before and after pictures

  • Weekly (not daily) weigh ins

  • Monthly body composition measurements

  • Tracking workout progression and accomplishments

I must have small wins along the way to stay committed to a workout program. These four things help me see that I am going toward the right direction.

The other thing I pay attention to is the F.I.T.T. principle. Which stands for frequency, intensity, time, and type of exercise.

  • Frequency refers to how often you exercise (i.e. 5 times a week, etc)

  • Intensity refers to how hard you exercise (i.e. heart rate or perceived exertion)

  • Time refers to how long you exercise for (i.e. time it takes you to complete a session)

  • Type of exercise refers to the activity (i.e. lifting, running, etc.)

Let's take my current workout as an example. I undergoing Vince Gironda's High Definition Workout Program, or 10 x 10. This means I am performing 10 sets of 10 repetitions each for any given exercise. The workout follows an upper and lower body split, ever other day for 5 days. I rest 2 days. This is my frequency. I select weights that are 60% of my 1-rep max. This means that if my 1-rep max for a neck press is 135 pounds, I will start with 81 pounds or close to it. This is my intensity. My rest between sets is less than 10 seconds. The time between exercises is less than 2 minutes. My total workout time does not exceed an hour. This is my time. I lift weights during this time and thus, this is my type of exercise.

This is my F.I.T.T. principle laid out for you. After my first week, I would change only one component of the F.I.T.T. principle. In my case, I would want to perform the workout in less time than last week. I will keep the same weight and perform the same exercises. I would attempt to perform the workout in less time. This means I only change the "time" component only.

Whenever you change two or more components of the F.I.T.T. principle, you lead to overtraining or injury. You are unable to recover from workouts and feel fatigued. If you feel like this, stop, rest, and re-assess your workout.

 

Advertisement

If you want to try Vince Gironda's Definition: High Tech Supplements! book, you can do so here: https://nspnutrition.com/collections/books-courses/products/definition-high-tech-supplements-new-diet-changes-by-vince-gironda-1


In this book, you will discover:

  • The biggest problem for a lack of definition

  • How to use breathing to create an incredible muscle pump

  • The exercise that allows you to maintain constant tension on the lats for mind-blowing results

  • The exercise that isolates the outside head of the biceps like no other

  • The faster way to develop the outside head of the deltoid

  • The maximum definition diet

  • The food that naturally increases metabolism

Use code JOSE10 at checkout to receive 10% off you orders.

 

References

  1. Sarah Kester; About the FITT Principle; Healthline; https://www.healthline.com/health/fitt-principle; Published 15 May 2020; Last accessed 5 March 2022.

  2. Brad Walker; What is the FITT Principle?; Stretch Coach; https://stretchcoach.com/articles/fitt-principle/; Published 24 September 2003; Last updated 6 May 2019; Last accessed 5 March 2022.

  3. NSP Nutrition; Definition: High Tech Supplements! New Diet Changes by Vince Gironda; https://nspnutrition.com/collections/books-courses/products/definition-high-tech-supplements-new-diet-changes-by-vince-gironda-1; Last accessed 5 March 2022.


4 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page